TruRecoil Bersa Discount
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: trouble getting slide back on Bersa Thunder 380 after cleaning

trouble getting slide back on Bersa Thunder 380 after cleaning

Recently I started having a problem with my Bersa Thunder 380 Duotone which I purchased new in July 2010 and have put aprox. 750 to 1500 rounds through. I take the slide off to clean the gun but after cleaning the gun the slide refuses to go back on. After several hours of trial and error I noticed what I have to do:

Step 1: I have to put a magazine back in the gun.

Step 2: I have to jiggle the trigger a bit which causes the hammer
    release cam and/or the automatic safety to move. (I am new to guns. The Bersa was actually my first gun purchase. Found out what parts were moving by checking diagram in instruction booklet.)

After doing the above steps I hear a slight clicking sound as if something is resetting. After that the slide goes on with no problems. Sometimes jiggling the trigger doesn't work and I actually have to dry fire the gun to get the slide to go back on. (Although Reynerson's video on YouTube states that you should never dry fire the gun.)

I also have noticed that if I remove the slide and leave it off for as little as 30 to 60 seconds I have to go through steps one and two. However, if I remove the slide and immediately put it back on I do not have any problems.

Is this something I should be concerned about or is it something that is common to Bersa firearms. I didn't start having this problem until last month and I fire my Bersa regularly once or twice a month putting 100 to 200 rounds through each time.

Re: trouble getting slide back on Bersa Thunder 380 after cleaning