TruRecoil Bersa Discount

Thread: Walther PPK vs Bersa Thunder - Price Difference

Slingshot

Question Walther PPK vs Bersa Thunder - Price Difference

Bersa and shooting newbie here so pardon the dumb questions. I bought the Bersa Thunder CC recently after a lot of research. I originally decided to buy the Walther PPK but then changed my mind in the final stages of the purchase decision. I opted for the Bersa not so much because of the price difference but moreso because of the negative comments I kept reading about the S&W Walthers (as someone told me, "they ain't what they used to be"). I'm still considering purchasing another handgun and I again find myself debating between the Walther or another Bersa Thunder (not the CC) - so here's the question(s): is the price difference between the PPK and the Thunder really justifiable due to tangible qualities (quality of workmanship or materials, accuracy, durability ...)? Or do you think the price difference is more about the Walther name and/or German labor costs vs Argentine labor costs?

On my Bersa Thunder CC: I have put about 700 rounds through it - I enjoy shooting it and I am getting more accurate with each trip to the range. As I posted on another forum however, I am about to send it for some warranty work. I have the issue that the slide will not hold open when I release the mag. It locks back on the last shot but usually slams shut when I drop the mag. When it does stay open after dropping the mag, sometimes it slams shut with the slightest bump - such as placing it on the bench or tapping the rear of the slide.

Moderator & Bersa Chat Greeter
    VIP Site Benefactor

Re: Walther PPK vs Bersa Thunder - Price Difference